Entry Requirements to Rwanda

Entry Requirements to Rwanda2019-01-18T09:54:59+00:00

Capital – KIGALI

Population – Approximately 12.2 Million

Language – English, French, and Kinyarwanda

An applicant should have a valid passport or another acceptable travel document and the document must have a validity of at least 6 months on the day of entry in Rwanda. Nationals (Passport holders) of the following countries do not require visas to enter Rwanda: Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, DRC, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Mauritius, Philippines, Senegal, Seychelles, Sao Tome, and Principe and Singapore.  Nationals of Australia, Germany, Israel, New Zealand, Sweden, United Kingdom, and the United States of America will be issued with entry visa valid for a period up to 30 days and pay for a visa ($30) upon arrival without prior application. More country-specific visa info linked here.

Effective from 01 January 2018, nationals of all countries will get a visa upon arrival without prior application.

Please click here to view the communiqué on new visa regime

For Standard Rates of Visa Fees please click Here

*The visitor’s visa should not be used for employment.

*On a reciprocal basis, Hong Kong citizens are required to pay the visa fee upon arrival.

*Nationals of all African countries traveling to or transiting through Rwanda obtain an entry visa upon arrival without necessarily making prior application and pay for a visa ($30) where applicable.


Single Entry:  This sub-class of visa shall be issued to:

* A foreigner who wants to visit Rwanda for any purpose other than work or business and is not a citizen of Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Mauritius, Philippines, Senegal, Seychelles, Sao Tome and Principe, Singapore.

* A person from any country who wants to enter Rwanda to seek a residence permit appropriate to the purpose of their stay. The purpose is other than visit, holiday, sightseeing, or recreation. Online application – Single Entry Visa

*click here for requirements

*click here to apply online

Nationals of the countries mentioned above not exempted from visa may also choose to get the visa at Rwanda Diplomatic Missions (except the UN Mission in New York) or online.

East Africa Visa – It’s eligible to a foreigner who wants to visit simultaneously the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda for tourism. An East Africa Tourist Visa is multiple entries within the three countries and shall be valid for 90 days.  Applications for this visa shall be lodged at any of the diplomatic representation of the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda, at the Immigration Offices of the respective countries or online where applicable.

Class T12 East Africa Tourist Visa

Health Requirements:

A vaccination certificate may be required at the border post. In the event of a major disease outbreak, specific requirements could be set and put to the knowledge of the public.

Please note that the possession of a Rwandan Visa is not the final authority to enter into Rwanda. The immigration officer at the port of entry may deny entry if the visitor is unable to fulfill the immigration requirements and if the entry and presence of such a person in Rwanda would be contrary to national interests, even if such a person is in possession of a valid visa for Rwanda.

error: Content is protected !!